Back To News

September 01, 2018

City approves development of new communities

Pepper Rodriguez

News Photo

Calgary city council has voted to allow 14 new suburban communities to be built in the coming years.

City administration had a list of 11 areas for development, with seven of them in the north end of the city.

Three additional communities — one in Glacier Ridge, one in Belvedere and one in South Shepard — were brought forward and approved. 

The 14 new communities would be located within the following provisionally-named area structure plans (ASPs):

• 4 in Glacier Ridge in the north.

• 2 in Belvedere in the east.

• 1 Haskayne in the northwest.

• 1 in East Stoney in the northeast.

• 2 in Keystone Hills in the northeast.

• 2 in Rangeview in the southeast.

• 1 in Providence in the southwest.

• 1 in South Shepard in the southeast.

There also would be a couple areas set aside for commercial and industrial development.

The new communities could add more than 18,000 single-family homes and more than 9,000 units such as condos and townhomes.

Condo Living Insider

Grand Openings, Magazine Previews & More...